Following The Herd Leads To The Slaughterhouse

Media Diversified

by Gee Ranasinha

Every now and again I’ll get asked to give a presentation at some industry event or another, or to write an article.

Such requests never fail to massage my ego, regardless of how loudly I tell myself that I’m only being asked because 1) they asked everyone else and have been turned down, and 2) there’s a gaping hole in their program/editorial calendar that they need to plug as quickly and as cheaply as possible.

Ego-boost goes into overdrive when the person doing the requesting feels that they actually have to sell the idea to me. They’ll talk about size of the audience/readership, demographic or psychographic profiles, monthly traffic and Page Rank. However, the truth of the matter is the very fact my point-of-view is deemed worthy enough to share with someone’s audience is usually reason enough to get me on board.

If you’ve read any of…

View original post 808 more words

Leave a Reply

